Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Comics Classroom

My good friend Michael Ryan Greenhale was the first person who published any of my writing.  Originally he let me publish an essay over Batman Arkham Asylum: A Serious House on Serious Earth on his regular blog post series The Comics Classroom which was part of the larger website Comicosity, and from there I’ve steadily built an online presence.  Recently Michael has returned to writing online essays and even started a podcast online where he discusses comics, comics writers, films based on comics, etc.  Being a regular reader of comics, not to mention a fan of Michael’s series The Comics Classroom, I asked him if I could contribute a work and he said yes.

I decided to write a small review about goals, specifically in relation to The Prophet Trilogy by Issac Deustcher, and a slim graphic novel entitled Trotsky by Rick Geary.

To read the entire article follow the link at the end of this post:

1441984770-1041_Trotsky

 

Trostsky, The Greatest Evil Hero Genius Monster in Comics History

One of the most brilliant maxims in human history was spoken by a Go-Go Dancer named Cherry Darling in the film Planet Terror, a film involving lesbianism, explosions, zombies, and said dancer getting her leg ripped off and having it replaced with an assault rifle.  Rey the mechanic, and secretly ex-super soldier El Rey, he meets his ex-girlfriend Cherry in a Barbeque joint.  He asks her briefly if she ever became that fancy doctor she was always talking about, she says no and when he says that she never stopped talking about she replies simply: images

Cherry: That’s the thing about goals, they become the thing you talk about instead of the thing you do.

I had a goal once this year, at the start of the summer.  I had bought through Amazon the, what now stands as, authoritative biography trilogy of Leon Trotsky by Isaac Deutscher.  Trotsky: The Prophet Armed, Trotsky: The Prophet Unarmed, Trotsky: The Prophet Outcast arrived one by one and when all three were together I confessed to a great many people that my goal for the summer was to read all three books.  It was fun telling people that, but as the summer started I found myself gravitating back towards The Bully Pulpit (which I still haven’t finished) but also a slim little graphic novel simply titled Trotsky by Rick Geary.6600626

 

 

IF YOU’RE INTERESTED IN READING THE REST OF THE ESSAY FOLLOW THE LINK BELOW TO THE COMICS CLASSROOM:

http://utamichaelrhale.tumblr.com/post/148479148860/guest-article-trotsky-the-greatest-evil-hero

