Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

fahrenheit-fourfiveone

It was recently Banned Books Week and so I thought I would do my part to cover a novel which I’m rather partial to.  Fahrenheit 451 is a novel I was exposed to because one of the best teachers I’ve ever had assigned the book The Illustrated Man for class.  Ray Bradbury, along with Stephen King, became an author I adored and so I picked up Something Wicked This Way Comes and Fahrenheit 451 on her recommendation. 

This novel is a science fiction masterpiece, but also one of the most misunderstood books in my opinion because everyone likes to focus on the book burning aspect of the plot rather than the deeper theme of combatting ignorance. Bradbury isn’t just writing about censorship in order to say censorship is bad.  The problem with censoring books is not just that it stops people from reading a book, the problem with censorship is that it stops people from reading a book and then thinking about it and the questions it asks. 

Banned Books week is more than just an opportunity to read naughty books in order to feel rebellious, it’s far more personal and political.  Reading Banned Books is a chance to counter ignorance because the only way to become smarter is to admit to ignorance so that someone can help you learn more. 

I’ll leave it at that and let my reader see the video for themselves and come up with their own opinion.  Because, after all, that’s the point of reading in the first place. 

Thank you for reading, and thank you for watching. 

banned

 

TO WATCH THE VIDEO FOLLOW THE LINK BELOW:

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=acXZx5gzHeU

 

 

 

 

Banned-Book-Poster-smaller700

 

