Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

cover_issue_49_en_us

I have been published.  It’s damned beautiful to actually see that written out, and twice as much fun to actually write it myself.  This post only serves a link to the actual work itself.  About a year ago, and I really do mean a year ago, I sent away a poem that had in fact only been a poem in the sense that it was a series of words I scribbled down while drunk in a Jazz bar in Chicago.  I was attending an academic conference for the fraternity Alpha Chi, and one of my local chapter’s sponsors grew up in Chicago and was an avid fan of Jazz.  He took us there, I got drunk, and for whatever reason while the base was thumping and the saxophone was taking to a place somewhere outside of time where the world was more of nothing but colors and feelings I began to write about Walt Whitman and fathers.

It was written on a cheap pocket notebook, later transcribed onto a yellow legal pad, and then stuffed away for several months until a friend of mine sent me a link to a Call for Submissions for the Queer Theory journal Writing From Below.  I decided to come up with something, sure and positive that nothing, NOTHING, I would write would get published and during that search I found the poem again.  I typed it up, touched it up in places, and submitted it, forgetting about it after just a week.  It was about five months later that I received an email back.

At this point any and all letters from publishers is assuredly a rejection letter and so when it shifted to “We are pleased…” It was all a lovely blur after that.  It took several more months of revisions, and actually having to cite a source (which is its own story) but now at last I have a real publication to my credit.

If the reader is interested in reading the poem they can follow the link below.  When they arrive at the site simply click on the image I’ve included above and it will take you to the Table of Contents where they can find my poem as well as several fascinating essays about masculinity, which I would highly encourage you to look up.

 

 

 

TO READ THE POEM FOLLOW THE LINK BELOW:

http://www.lib.latrobe.edu.au/ojs/index.php/wfb/issue/view/49

