Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

My good friend TJ Rankin has recently joined the blogging game, and has started a wonderful site and also managed to establish a wonderful and unique voice really quickly. He’s also managed a skill that eludes me, brevity. His site FrameRate Reviews covers any and all films he watches, providing a rating system based on 1-10, and each review is written in just three sentences.

As my regular reader knows I recently published my review of the film Eraserhead by David Lynch, and it was WELL past three sentences. Still, before I sat down to write that essay I spoke with TJ who was kind enough to let me try to write one for his site, and much to my disbelief he actually was gracious enough to post it on FrameRate.

I can’t thank him enough for this, and I also cannot recommend his site enough to my regular reader. TJ writes concise, accurate, and entertaining reviews of the films he watches and I never miss one.

You can read my review of Eraserhead by following the links at the very bottom, and you can go straight to FrameRate and start reading TJ’s reviews by following the link just below this one. Again, if his writing doesn’t sell you my regular reader may appreciate someone who can write about a movie using less that 4000 words.

https://frameratesite.wordpress.com/

Thanks again TJ!

FrameRate Reviews

I present to you all the first guest review for FrameRate, provided by my good friend and fellow blogger Joshua “Jammer” Smith! I let Jammer be a bit loose with the rules, as the guy laughs in the face of any and all writing restrictions; brevity is still key though, even if he’s gonna need those extra sentences with the movie he’s reviewing. Now, I’ll shut up and let Jammer say the rest—


Eraserhead is a silent movie made entirely of sound. Most reviews of the film say things like “It’s unlike anything you’ve ever seen before,” and that’s accurate but it doesn’t give the film the justice that it deserves. The film has a loose narrative: a man named Henry who lives in a ruined post-industrial nightmare world conceives a “child” with a local woman and the rest of the film revolves around him trying to care for it…

View original post 153 more words

