Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 author_alice_walker

My first thought was why the hell did it take me so long to read this wonderful book?  My other thought was that the rain was probably soaking into my coffee, but momentary discomfort was worth it.

I had known about the existence of The Color Purple ever since I was in the sixth grade and had to do a book report over a biography of Steven Spielberg.  I delivered my report in my dad’s Hawaiian shirt and a baseball cap and I still remember being the only kid hero_EB20040328REVIEWS08403280301ARwho went ten minutes over the required time.  While mostly reading about the films Jurassic Park and JAWS, which tended to interest me far more than any of Spielberg’s other movies, there was a brief mention of the film The Color Purple.  That was it for a few years until eventually I arrived in eleventh grade and got into American Literature.  It was there that the book made another passing appearance because we read Alice Walker’s short story Everyday Use.  Somewhere during the lessons on the short story there was a brief biography of Alice Walker and mention that she had published a book which was banned.  When asked why the book was my teacher carefully explained that the book was about, or contained, lesbianism.  Given the fact I was a teenage boy that should have been enough for me, but again, ColorPurplefor whatever reason Miss Walker’s book remained background noise to real concerns like memorizing every episode of Family Guy and beating my friend at Smash Bros.  For the record I achieved only ever the first task.

In the end my wife and tweed became the way I finally got around to reading the novel.  My wife, for some accurate reason, thought I would good in tweed blazers.  Being a poor man, Men’s Warehouse is out of the question and so I get most of my blazers at Goodwill which also usually has a book section.  To be fair most of its crap Christian inspirational books, but sometimes you’ll find a real treasure.  Having grabbed a nice blue blazer with elbow patches I spotted the novel tucked between Sarah Palins crap memoir (I can’t even remember the title) and a Chicken Soup for the Soul was a clean, crisp paperback copy of The Color Purple.20090102_050744_PURPLE4

On a nice rainy day I sat out on my back porch in a fold out lawn chair with my pile of books and a cup of coffee, and in between the long periods where I would just watch the rain soak into the grass and dirt, I opened Walker’s novel and disappeared.

Walker is poet, and that’s not just a cute metaphor for her abilities as a writer, she’s actually a published poet and her prose benefits from this ability.  Reading The Color Purple, even though it is written first hand as a series of letters, is like reading a novel written purely in poetry.  Some of that might simply be the fact that her characters write in a southern dialect, but I believe the main reason for the beauty of the book is the fact that, the protagonist Celie, as she experiences one heartache after another, writes plainly and honestly about her emotional being so that her story becomes a song.  Celie is raped by her father, essentially sold to her new husband, receives beating after beating, and eventually falls in love with a woman named Shug Avery, a jazz singer who actually defies her husband and who manages to help Celie find her own spirit and sense of self-worth.top11reveals-color-purple

The relationship between Celie and Shug is what lasted after reading The Color Purple for me, partly because it was a lesbian relationship.  My regular reader will remember, as if I’d let them forget, that most of my reading and writing explores human sexuality, and while most of the time that is centered on sex between men, I try to balance it by reading stories of women so I’m not lop-sided.  I’m not sure if that metaphor works, or if it’s a metaphor at all.  Point is, while reading the novel I focused my attention on the queer relationship between Shug and Celie because it lied at the heart of her personal transformation.The-Color-Purple-Photo-2

Walker’s writing is still impressive for the fact that she doesn’t hold back when describing sexuality.  Unlike other authors who try to veil sex beneath metonymy and color descriptions of flowers “opening,” Walker presents a woman feeling her desire in her body.  In one passage Celie is watching the men watching Shug and noticing her own reaction:

All the men got they eyes glued to Shug’s bosom.  I got my eyes glued there too.  I feel my nipples harden under my dress.  My little button sort of perk up too.  Shug, I say to her in my mind, Girl, you looks like a real good time, the Good Lord knows you do.  (81).

This continues later on when Celie narrates the first morning after she and Shug make love:

Dear God,colorpurple3_0

Grady and Mr. ______ come staggering in round daybreak.  Me and shug sound asleep.  Her back to me, my arms round her waist.  What it like?  Little like sleeping with mama, only I can’t hardly remember ever sleeping with her.  Little like sleeping with Nettie, only sleeping with Nettie never feel this good.  It warm and cushiony, and I feel shug’s big tits flop over my arms like suds.  It feel like heaven is what it feel like, not like sleeping with Mr. ______ at all.  (114).9592c85a0abbc61f73e094479d357a2f

Speaking of breasts, I’ve been fortunate in my life to spend most of my life surrounded with women.  There was a dark period when puberty started where I couldn’t speak with them without mumbling, drooling, and/or generally speaking in tongues, but over time I got over this.  To this day I work mostly with women, and most of the people I regularly interact with are women.  Because of this I’ve become aware a strange fact: women tend to describe and talk about their bodies differently than men describe them.  I believe the word “duh” is appropriate after this statement.  The word “suds” and “flop” demonstrate this.  When women describe their breasts, either in conversation or writing, it’s almost always different than when men do it.  Male writers often use pretty words like “slope” and “rise” when describing ripe, perky breasts or “bubble-boobs” if you prefer.  Whereas Walker as a woman describes breasts as “suds” that “flop,” and while a male author might use such language to describe flaccid and therefore grotesque breasts, Walker still manages to present a genuine eroticism.

I don’t want this essay to be nothing but discussion of breasts, but when the opportunity arises, well, I’m still pathetically male.1

Reading this brief passage I was struck by how honest Walker paints the body, and how while reading Celie seems to find some kind of happiness in her life.  It’s not simply that Celie enjoys having sex with Shug, it’s that the love making and the conversations they share as women help her develop into a more mature person who is more aware of her body and what it can give her.

No passage reveals this as much an early exchange between Shug and Celie when they discuss sex with men and Shug gives Celie one of the most important gifts one woman can give to the other:

She start to laugh.  Do his business, she say.  Do his business.  Why Miss Celie.  You Make it sould like he going to the toilet on you.

That what it feel likem I say.

She 8e25271095d35852bd36548a0d7256e2stop laughin.

You never enjoy it at all? She ast, puzzle.  Not even with your children daddy?

Never, I say.

Why Miss Celie, she say, you still a virgin.

What?”  I ast.

Listen, she say, right down there in your pussy is a little button that gits real hot when you do you know what with somebody.  It git hotter and hotter ad then it melt.  That the good part.  But other parts good too, she say.  Lots of sucking go on, here and there, she say.  Lot of finger and tongue work.

Button?  Finger and Tongue?  My face hot enough to melt itself.

She say, Here, take this mirror and go look at yourself down there, I bet you never seen it have you?cyeky3gwcaek9fh

Naw.

[…]

I lie back on the bed and haul up my dress.  Yank down my bloomers.  Stick the looking glass tween my legs.  Ugh.  All that hair.  Them my pussy lips be black.  Then inside like a wet rose.

[…]

I look at her and touch it with my finger.  A little shiver go through me.  Nothing much.  But just enough to tell me this the right button to mash.  Maybe.  (77-8).

This is a long passage, but necessary because it was a moment that I had never experienced before while reading any “literary classic.”  Oliver Twist never discovered the joys of self-love with his friend Master Bates (that name is real by the way, look it up).  Hamlet never touched himself.  And looking at other women in fiction there’s a pronounced absence of self-discovery.  Jane Eyre never masturbated.  marci_mcdonald_ego-alteregodotcomNeither did Elizabeth Bennet.  Neither did Jo March.  And neither did Hermoine Granger.  I understand that each of these women were working with different times and paradigms governing women’s body’s in literature, but looking at the literary tradition I was raised on what becomes obviously missing from it to the point of being galling is sexuality.  Specifically, exploring sexuality in order to become a more well-rounded person.

Celie, from her experiences with Shug, begins to recognize her own innate strength enough to challenge her husband and discover that he has been hiding her sister’s letters from Africa from her.  This discovery prompts the next wave of her emotional development, but this could never have happened if she hadn’t learned to even look at her vulva.

This last act assumes great importance to my reading largely because I’m a guy.  If the reader doesn’t realize it, and I’d be terribly sad for them if they didn’t, men and women are different anatomically speaking.  Because the penis is on the outside of the body boys never grow up not knowing what their genitals are or what they look like or how to period-power-neonnavigate them.  Because of this, boys eventually develop into men who are able to master their sexual exploration far easier than women.  Put it simply, I never as a boy had to worry about whether I had anything down there because I had been using mine since before I could walk.

But this also creates a real ignorance about women’s anatomy and physiology.  Being a boy you don’t recognize that some women struggle to find their clitoris, or that some women can go their entire lives without ever having an orgasm.  Reading this passage was illuminating because it was one of the first real instances of a woman discovering her body, and it’s joys, in a real literary novel.  As I noted in the previous list women like Elizabeth Bennet, Jane Eyre, Hermoine Granger, and Jo March were women I knew from my literary training, and while they all are wonderful characters with great pshugersonalities, they’re all, for the most part, sexless creatures.

I’m not saying that we need to read about Jane’s masturbatory habits or Hermoine seeing her vagina for the first time for a novel to be truly great.  The Harry Potter series is wonderful, and Pride & Prejudice is one of the most beautiful novels in human history.  But Celie’s story remains an important opportunity for women’s literature to grow and develop because it explores a new territory by introducing a real sensuality that isn’t just veiled or hidden behind pretty words.

The Color Purple is a novel that shows a woman discovering her body, and seeing her sex for the first time Celie can use words like “pussy” and “button” and still leave the reader withSelfPleasuring012-large a feeling that they have read a beautiful passage about self-discovery.  When I finished The Color Purple I realized that I had finished a beautifully written novel, but I had also read one of the few fictional works that was willing to honestly and unashamedly portray a woman’s personal discovery that her sexuality was not simply a procreative act, it could be, in the worlds of the nameless philosopher, “a bit of fun.”

Lesbianism and female masturbation are still new and developing territories in fiction, and so when a novel like Walker’s comes around which manages to explore the territory and make it beautiful is the reader’s time.

Though it should be noted that Pride & Predjudice & Vibrators should be held off until the reader’s taken the time to figure out the position Maryanne and Ginger.  Google it.

purple_85391188_140563c

 

 

 

*Writer’s Note*

All passages from The Color Purple were taken from the Harcourt Paperback copy.

 

*Writer’s Note*

While researching this article I found this small blog post which briefly explores how the lesbianism in this book helps shape Celie as a woman.  Enjoy.

http://thecolorpurplebystephen.blogspot.com/2011/02/relationship-between-celie-and-shug.html

 

***Writer’s Note***

And, because this it the person I am, I decided to look up some articles about women, sexuality, and masturbation.

https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2013/nov/26/lesbianism-women-sexual-fluidity-same-sex-experiences

http://nymag.com/thecut/2012/11/i-went-to-a-female-masturbation-class.html

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2015/01/14/reasons-women-should-masturbate_n_6172092.html

https://www.vice.com/en_us/article/we-asked-some-girls-how-they-masturbate-876

http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2014/06/19/c-mon-ladies-masturbation-isn-t-just-for-bad-girls.html

http://www.prevention.com/sex/facts-about-female-masturbation

http://everydayfeminism.com/2016/01/myths-women-masturbation/

http://www.thehealthsite.com/sexual-health/female-masturbation-10-steps-to-have-an-orgasm/

http://www.womenshealthmag.com/sex-and-love/masturbation-moves

https://www.womenshealthnetwork.com/sexandfertility/health-benefits-of-masturbation.aspx

 

****Writer’s Note****

Finally, on one last note, shortly after finishing this essay I checked the Poem of the Day for PoetryFoundation.org, and I found this gem which made me think about the nature of purple and thus reflect back on Alice Waker’s beautiful novel.  Hope you enjoy:

https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/47398

 

